Topic of the Week 1 (Fall ’12)

Lets talk about your blog. How did  you devise your blog name? Who will be the target audience for your blog? What are the popular forms of communication among your identified audience (i.e. word of mouth, Facebook, Twitter, etc.)? Is your blog connected to, or will you post your links, on any social media platform beyond WordPress to generate buzz? Why or why not?

OR

Which area of public relations are you most interested in (i.e. crisis planning, healthcare, financial relations, event planning, etc.) and why?

7 Comments

Filed under classes, PRCA 2330

7 responses to “Topic of the Week 1 (Fall ’12)

  1. Reblogged this on Short, Southern, & Sassy and commented:
    The areas of PR that I am most intersested in are with music, or wherever I can help people, like a non profit organization. One company I am working with now is with an organization AFSP (American Foundation for Suicuide Prevention) it’s been a really awesome experience, where I actually started making a blog just recently for the company and am helping out with a walk they are doing. The company helps and prevents suicide loss and depression. I have learned that while working with this company I love planning, and helping out with the event side, so maybe event planning could be another interest of mine. While helping people is a big passion of mine, so is music. I would love to work for a record label, or even a music magazine. Caren West PR firm in Atlanta, is a dream place of mine to work, she does just about everything from PR, Music, Fashion, and Graphic Design. I love them all so much, I hope to eventually find which area of PR fits best for me

  2. I have discussed in my blog that I am interested in event planning. I am so excited about being in my major courses and I am ready for new experiences. Next semester, I will definitely be taking the Event Management course! I have always wanted to be in a career that I enjoy. In my opinion, making money in a field you do not enjoy is not fulfilling. I know that I will look forward to going to work everyday when I am employed by a PR firm for planning events.

  3. The Major of Public Relations I am interested in and how it came about.
    What are Public Relations? Well According to PRSA web site Public relations is a strategic communication process that builds mutually beneficial relationships between organizations and their public.” Deciding on a major was very difficult for me; I started out in Biology, switched to nursing, physical therapy, back to biology and then finally settled on PR. Thanks to my fashion merchandise teacher about a year ago here at Georgia Southern Ms.Wallace help me get on the right track. I explained to her that I enjoyed clothes and fashion but was not that interested in making them but being around clothes, fashion shows, magazines, and new trends things of that sort. She instructed me that PR would go great with fashion merchandise and so here, I am.
    After doing some research on the web, the job I feel that fits me would be Fashion Director. Depending on the type of business, fashion directors manage everything from design to promotions. Also called fashion coordinators or creative directors, fashion directors may work for magazines, advertising agencies, designers, or retail giants. Concisely, fashion directors run the show, which I love to do.
    Fashion directors are responsible for creating the look and feel of fashion shoots, ad campaigns, department stores, design houses, magazine ads, and other visual and promotional materials. They monitor industry trends, and attend fashion shows and trade shows. Fashion directors also travel frequently to meet with clients, buyers, account representatives, and other industry professionals. Fashion directors work for advertising agencies, magazines, public relations firms, design houses, department stores, production studios, event-planning companies, media firms, and even film and video production studios.

  4. This is my first time ever blogging and I find it to be pretty fun and interesting. My goal with this blog is to portray the beautiful side of Honduras; its wilderness, its people, the food, and the amazing Caribbean which surrounds the Northern coast of Honduras. This way I can inform my audience of how exotic this country is and where to go once they decide to visit, tourist from around the world would also be able to comment and share their experiences in Honduras through my blog. The most popular forms of communication that I would use in order to spread the word would be facebook, twitter, and youtube videos; since people around the world use at least one of these forms of communication. Also this way people other than me can post videos about their experience in Honduras and add links of certain hotels or restaurants where they were. This way tourist would be motivated to join and follow the blog, twitter, or facebook. Links would be placed every form of internet communication so that everyone has the same exact information and so no one misses out on anything. Over all the purpose of the blog would be to promote Honduran tourism around the world.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1MbemY7wLUE youtube.
    http://www.slh.com/destinations/americas/honduras/atlantida/pico-bonito-lodge/?refcd=GO000000515543299s_The_Lodge_at_Pico_Bonito_Honduras&tsacr=GO14036040092&gclid=CO-xkY2TorICFYNM4AodAEYA-g The lodge at Pico Bonito.

  5. The areas of PR that I am most intersested in are with music, or wherever I can help people, like a non profit organization. One company I am working with now is with an organization AFSP (American Foundation for Suicuide Prevention) it’s been a really awesome experience, where I actually started making a blog just recently for the company and am helping out with a walk they are doing. The company helps and prevents suicide loss and depression. I have learned that while working with this company I love planning, and helping out with the event side, so maybe event planning could be another interest of mine. While helping people is a big passion of mine, so is music. I would love to work for a record label, or even a music magazine. Caren West PR firm in Atlanta, is a dream place of mine to work, she does just about everything from PR, Music, Fashion, and Graphic Design. I love them all so much, I hope to eventually find which area of PR fits best for me!

  6. I am interested in what I can do with Public Relations and Health Care. I don’t necessarily want to work in a hospital, but I have a drive to help people. Not only that, but health care is needed by everyone and is most likely a safe job during an economy crisis. I’ve thought about working with Para-Olypmic athletes and how they get their PR, or being a PR rep for a company which designs and makes prosthetic for these athletes. I know that this is just an idea but I would really like to see how this would come into action. And since this is just one idea about the field I would like to see what other areas of the Health Care industry are available for PR majors and where you don’t have to work with the sick.

    • lm02113

      Hi! I also am interested in PR with healthcare. It’s a growing field and like you said, it is a relatively safe field during the economic crisis. My mom is a nurse at North Forsyth Hospital near Atlanta, and I had her look into it. According to her, PR in hospitals do not have to work directly with the sick like the doctors and nurses do. They are more about internal communications, crisis management, and writing positive news releases about their hosiptal’s accomplishments. One example my mom gave is her hospitals latest campaign called POP. It stands for Power Of People and its purpose is to increase the retention rate of all employees (especially the nurses). The problem was that after about 6 months, many nurses would leave the hospital for another job, and the hospital would loose the money that they had invested in training the nurses in the first place. POP is all about maintaining a friendly work enviornment and encouraging friendly employee relationships, so that nurses will be less likely to move. The PR devision asked several top nurses in different units to lead POP by doing things like dressing up at work for holidays, celebrating nurses birthdays, or aniversaries for working a certain amount of time. Here, PR is facilitating internal communication. I hope this helps give some insight on working with PR healthcare!