Are libraries necessary for research?

While discussing primary and secondary research with my Public Relations Research class, I proposed the following discussion question from our textbook author: “Are libraries necessary for research?”. Most of the student answers touched on using the library to meet with their group members, as oppose to conducting research. I listed a few student answers below for you to ponder. But I’d like to know, do you feel libraries are necessary for research? Take the poll.

Enjoy a few student answers:

  • I don’t think going to the library for research is necessary anymore because the Internet has everything on it.
  • I feel that in order to do research effectively you have to go to the library.
  • It’s not necessary, but I think I’m more productive when working there.
  • Yes. A lot of useful material can be found at the library.
  • I believe it is not necessary, but many times it is easiest to meet there because everyone knows where it is.
  • It depends on the situation, but I think with the Internet the library isn’t always necessary.
  • NO! You can do online research and other things besides going to the library. No one reads books anymore, duh!

Urkovia

Comments Off on Are libraries necessary for research?

Filed under classes, personal thoughts

Comments are closed.