A tribute to high school….items

Last week I played the below YouTube clip for students in my public speaking course. It is the commencement address delivered in 2009 by comedian Eugene Mirman. If you have 5 minutes, you won’t regret watching it. After we discussed the necessary tie-ins with his speech and public speaking, we continued down high school lane to pull ideas and examples for additional portions of the lecture.

With the high school graduation ceremonies in full gear, I thought a tribute to the season fitting. Yet the focus of this post is not memories from high school verbatim, yet an homage to the the things I can still wear from high school. (I could supply an endless lists of items that I don’t use/ can’t wear from high school.)

5. My high school ring. (Granted, it may have to be on a chain around my neck, but hey, it’s on.)
4. My gym shorts. (Really. The beauty of wearing a large t-shirt with it is that people can’t see the belly hanging over the top. Who doesn’t enjoy an elastic waistband?)
3. Earrings. (Hoops, studs, and crosses are always in style. Somewhere.)
2. Nail polish. (The bottles might be different, but the color is still cool.)
1. Sunglasses. (Everything old is new again.)

Granted, some of these items I wouldn’t wear outside the confinements of my house, but I can still wear them. What are some items you can still wear from high school? Or better yet, what are some items you wish you could still wear from high school?

Comments Off on A tribute to high school….items

Filed under personal thoughts, public speaking

Comments are closed.