Research is S.E.X.

Each semester our Center for Excellence in Teaching (C.E.T.) offers courses geared around questions or issues that often arise in the classroom and creative ways to combat them. The last one I attended briefly touched on developing a slogan for your course, such as Math is FUNdamental. This idea lingered with me as I’ve never considered a slogan for a college course. At least not beyond the “get to know the campus courses” that are required of freshman on most college campuses. So, long story short, I came up with this slogan for my Research class:

Research is S.E.X.

Students Example of Xenophobia

My goal this semester is to tie as many lectures as possible to various aspects of relationships that we all go through. I have no intentions of crossing or coming close to the line with this. My goal is to simply make the material more interesting by connecting with something students have faced, do face, or will face.

I think the students were a bit apprehensive when I introduced this slogan, yet, they were highly interactive when it came to offering  suggestions for our topic of discussion. For example, when discussing the three phases of the research process (pre-research, research, post-research) I related each process phase with a stage in a relationship, such as courtship, marriage, and kids.

Is it risky? Uh… yeah, but I hope that students will remember the material well beyond the class. I guess course evaluations and grades will tell.

Your thoughts? Too risky?

If you are currently in my research class, what do you think thus far?

2 Comments

Filed under classes, public relations

2 responses to “Research is S.E.X.

  1. justin jurgensen

    I think that would be interesting. I am taking a “conflict and theory” communications class that sort of deals with the same psychology and situations that involve interactions with people close to you and strangers. So xenophobia would be somewhere along that train of thought I would think.

    • uandrews

      Yes, it would be along the same lines. Hopefully you will share some additional insights learned in your conflict and theory course as the semester progresses.